Saturday, February 24, 2018
User Rating: / 0
PoorBest 

A still from Padmaavat

Padmaavat may have opened to mixed reviews from critics, but the audience verdict is unanimous - the film is a hit. Sanjay Leela Bhansali's period drama has been setting the box office ablaze since its release on January 25. Padmaavat, which reportedly raked in around Rs 5.75 crore on Tuesday, has already become the highest-grossing film of Deepika Padukone, Ranveer Singh, Shahid Kapoor as well as the filmmaker.

What has also helped in Padmaavat dominating at the box office is the release of Akshay Kumar and Sonam Kapoor-starrer Pad Man getting pushed. The makers of Pad Man had agreed to postpone the release of their film on Sanjay Leela Bhansali's request, given the massive hurdles that Padmaavat had been facing.

Padmaavat is not only taking the box office in India by storm, the film is faring well overseas, too.

Here is a day-by-day breakdown of Padmaavat's collections:

Day 1 - Wednesday, paid previews (January 24)- Rs 5 crore

Day 2 - Thursday (January 25)- Rs 19 crore

Day 3 - Friday (January 26)- Rs 32 crore

Day 4 - Saturday (January 27)- Rs 27 crore

Day 5 - Sunday (January 28)- Rs 31 crore

Day 6 - Monday (January 29) - Rs 15 crore

Day 7 - Tuesday (January 30)- Rs 14 crore

Day 8 - Wednesday (January 31)- Rs 12.50 crore

Day 9 - Thursday (February 1) - Rs 11 crore

Day 10 - Friday (February 2)- Rs 10 crore

Day 11 - Saturday (February 3)- Rs 16 crore

Day 12 - Sunday (February 4) - Rs 20 crore

Day 13 - Monday (February 5) - Rs 7 crore

Day 14 - Tuesday (February 6) - Rs 5.75 crore (approx)

Total box office collection: Rs 225.25 crore

Padmaavat features Deepika Padukone as Rani Padmavati, Ranveer Singh as Alauddin Khilji and Shahid Kapoor as Maharawal Ratan Singh. The film is inspired by Malik Muhammad Jayasi's 16th century epic poem, Padmavat.

The film is expected to reign at the box office till Friday, when the next big Bollywood release, Pad Man, hits the screens. Whether Padmaavat will be able to hold fast after that remains to be seen.

Courtesy: India Today 

Add comment

We welcome comments. No Jokes Please !

Security code
Refresh

entertainment

Who's Online

We have 1558 guests online
 

Visits Counter

782917 since 1st march 2012